News / General Election 2015

Bristol South: Karin Smyth becomes new MP

By bristol247, Friday May 8, 2015

Bristol got its first new MP of this general election when Labour’s Karin Smyth was declared the winner in Bristol South.

Smyth thanked Dawn Primarolo for her 28 years of service to the area. She said: “It is an honour to be entrusted by the people of Bristol South to follow in her footsteps.”

She added she would make a “solemn promise” to work hard for the constituency for “years to come”.

independent journalism

Bristol24/7 relies on your support to remain independent. If you like what we do and you want us to keep reporting, become a member for just £45 for the year

Join now

Bristol South general election result:

Karin Smyth, Labour
19,505 (38%)

Isobel Grant, Conservative
12,377 (24%)

Steve Wood, UKIP
8,381 (16%)

Tony Dyer, Green
5,861 (12%)

Mark Wright, Liberal Democrats
4,416 (9%)

Tom Baldwin, Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition
302 (1%)

Related articles