Film

Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Director
Céline Sciamma
Certificate
15
Running Time
119 mins

Tomboy and Girlhood director Céline Sciamma‘s period romantic drama was a huge hit at Cannes, where it won both the Best Screenplay and Queer Palm awards.

Set in 18th century Brittany, the film follows artist Marianne (Noémie Merlant), who’s commisioned by a countess to paint a portrait of her daughter Héloïse (Adèle Haenel). This is intended for the young woman’s future husband (whom she has never met) as testament to her charms. Héloïse is not best pleased with any part of this arrangement and refuses to sit for anyone. So Marianne poses as a walking companion to Héloïse by day, and captures her likeness on canvas from memory at night. Intimacy of the variety that Héloïse’s mother probably didn’t anticipate ensues…

By robin askew, Friday, Nov 15 2019

Screenings

  • Cube

    Fri February 14, 2020

    • 6:30 pm

    Mon March 30, 2020

    • 8:00 pm

    Tue March 31, 2020

    • 8:00 pm
  • Watershed

    Fri February 28, 2020

    • 6:00 pm

    Sat February 29, 2020

    • 6:00 pm

    Sun March 1, 2020

    • 5:20 pm

    Mon March 2, 2020

    • 6:00 pm

    Tue March 3, 2020

    • 6:00 pm

    Wed March 4, 2020

    • 6:00 pm

    Thu March 5, 2020

    • 6:00 pm
  • Curzon

    Sun March 29, 2020

    • 7:30 pm

Related listings

Related articles